or Login >>         
C4 - DS4 Owners :: Forums :: Coupe and Hatch Pre 2011 cars :: Technical Questions

Temp sensor replacement...

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools
   
Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
danny_l   
Wed Dec 30 2009, 03:23pm
Hi,

After todays diagnostic check and re-entered injector codes, I was told that I would need a new engine coolant sensor which I have orded from Citroen. Has anyone replace one before? Any tips on how to?

Thanks in advance guys
Dave_Retired.   
Fri Jan 01 2010, 12:30pm

Member No: #1
Joined: Aug 07 2006
Location: Northumberland
Which engine?

On a HDi there is a 'water outlet temp switch sensor' on the water pump
danny_l   
Fri Jan 01 2010, 03:39pm
Its the 1.6Hdi 110Bhp. Still waiting for the part to come...
Dave_Retired.   
Fri Jan 01 2010, 04:53pm

Member No: #1
Joined: Aug 07 2006
Location: Northumberland
danny_l wrote ...

Its the 1.6Hdi 110Bhp. Still waiting for the part to come...

Post the part number and I'll try and dig the info out for you
danny_l   
Mon Jan 04 2010, 10:27am
C6 Dave wrote ...


Post the part number and I'll try and dig the info out for you



I'v picked up the part from Cit today







Temp Sensor 1338.C1 hope this should fix the problem...
Dave_Retired.   
Mon Jan 04 2010, 10:40am

Member No: #1
Joined: Aug 07 2006
Location: Northumberland
Well the same sensor is used in several places with different names'

1. INJ CALCULATOR SENSOR - no 5 below




2. INJ CALCULATOR SENSOR - no 2 below



PM me your VIN and I'll try and get the correct location
danny_l   
Mon Jan 04 2010, 10:57am
Thank you dave!

Have PMed you
Dave_Retired.   
Mon Jan 04 2010, 01:08pm

Member No: #1
Joined: Aug 07 2006
Location: Northumberland
OK it's picture 2 and goes just above the bell housing
danny_l   
Tue Jan 05 2010, 04:56pm
Just to confirm, it was picture 2. Nice and easy job, took about 5-10 mins to replace
Dave_Retired.   
Tue Jan 05 2010, 05:07pm

Member No: #1
Joined: Aug 07 2006
Location: Northumberland
danny_l wrote ...

Just to confirm, it was picture 2. Nice and easy job, took about 5-10 mins to replace

Thanks for taking the time to add the feedback
shamilt1   
Tue Nov 12 2013, 12:19am
Member No: #20952
Joined: Jul 22 2011
Location: Keighley
Hi. My fan isn't coming on so I have bought one of these sensors to see if it will fix the problem. Mine is a 1.6HDI and is the second engine of the 2 pictures. Is this an easy part to fit? It looks like it's held in place with a retaining clip so do I disconnect the electrical connector, pull the clip, switch sensors, clip it in place, reattach the wiring and that's it? Will coolant start running out when I remove the sensor? Any help before I tackle it will be appreciated. Thank you.
evanwr   
Tue Nov 12 2013, 02:20am
Member No: #14515
Joined: Jul 09 2010
Location: Australia
When my fan wasn't working, it was the Fan Control Unit which is located in the front of the car, in front of the radiator.
The easy way to get at it, is to take out the plastic clips across the front of the car above the grill, wedge a bit of wood under the lip, to keep it up, and you can just get your hand to to replace it. From memory the unit wasn't very pricey. Regards Evan
1 User said Thank You to evanwr for this Post :
 shamilt1 (15 Nov 2013 : 13:09)
shamilt1   
Tue Nov 12 2013, 02:38am
Member No: #20952
Joined: Jul 22 2011
Location: Keighley
evanwr wrote ...

When my fan wasn't working, it was the Fan Control Unit which is located in the front of the car, in front of the radiator.
The easy way to get at it, is to take out the plastic clips across the front of the car above the grill, wedge a bit of wood under the lip, to keep it up, and you can just get your hand to to replace it. From memory the unit wasn't very pricey. Regards Evan

Thanks- I will maybe try that if this sensor doesn't fix the problem.
shamilt1   
Fri Nov 15 2013, 01:10pm
Member No: #20952
Joined: Jul 22 2011
Location: Keighley
Thanks Evanwr. It was indeed the fan control unit which I fitted today and it solved my problem- thank you for your post.
 

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Administrator, Forum Moderator, Forum Moderator, Premier Member, Technical Expert, New C4 and DS4 Forum Moderators, Member