or Login >>         
C4 - DS4 Owners :: Forums :: Coupe and Hatch Pre 2011 cars :: C4 Coupe Hatch and General Questions

C4 1.6HDI ABS Bleeding

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
Kernowcar   
Sun Jul 05 2020, 03:44pm
Member No: #56321
Hi I am fairly new to Citroen cars and am having problems bleeding my abs system. I have many years experience working on cars from servicing to replacing engines.

Given car by sister with failed starter motor and dead battery, eventually sorted just time consuming. Thought I would sort out brakes, but rear pistons wouldn't wind back in and in process broke a brake pipe and associated loss of fluid. Changed rear pipe and stripped and sorted both rear calipers. Problem started when trying to bleed usual one man system and using autocom and my vident 702pro diagnostics.

The bleeding of the abs on both machines are Rear LH, then Front LH, then Front RH and finally Rear RH. This is a different sequence than the normal bleeding sequence. But I didn't have a pressure bleeder when I first attempted to bleed the abs, which I have now bought. But when bleeding without the pressure bleeder using autocom both lefthand calipers did not actuate the abs pump, but when bleeding the righthand calipers did. Unfortunately the vident 702pro wouldn't get passed the first caliper as you need to follow the sequence unlike the autocom where you an select each caliper separately.