or Login >>         
C4 - DS4 Owners :: Forums :: Citroen C4 Picasso and Grand C4 Picasso (B78) 2013 onward :: C4 Picasso (B78) General Questions

Diesel Particle Filter - additive cleaner?

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
danlat1415   
Wed Jul 26 2017, 08:13am
Member No: #48933
I'm new to these fairly modern diesel cars with particle filters.
I know you have to occasionally driver at least 20 minutes at over 50mph for the filter to burn off the soot and clean itself.

Has anyone used, or can recommend a fuel additive particle cleaner such as;
Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325 ml.

I just wondered if it's worth adding one of these to my fuel tank, as we normally drive short journeys - so it could be an issue with needing specific journeys to clean it.
gmerry   
Thu Jul 27 2017, 02:48am
Member No: #11625
PSA diesel particle filter (DPF) systems are very robust and well engineered: if the engine is in good condition, no need to add any additive. The car already has an additive system that catalyses the particle combustion to a lower ignition temperature.
No need for special high speed runs either. Most of the stuff in the press is complete mis-information, or does not relate to PSA system.

If you are worried, get the car booked in for a Diagbox interrogation session, say every year (or every 6 months) to check all engine and emission parameters (No this won't automatically happen as part of a service).

regards
1 User said Thank You to gmerry for this Post :
 danlat1415 (27 Jul 2017 : 05:43)
BigJohnD   
Thu Jul 27 2017, 01:14pm

Member No: #82
I've never been convinced by after market additives. In fact Citroen recommend you don't use any.