or Login >>         
C4 - DS4 Owners :: Forums :: C4 2011 (B7) DS4 and DS4 CROSSBACK :: Ice and Sat Nav Questions

C4 / DS4 Radio Head unit removal

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools
   
Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
kitjunky   
Sat Aug 17 2013, 05:31am
Member No: #24347
Joined: Feb 19 2012
Location: Uk
Does anyone know how the top display front fascia comes away so the headunit can be removed. Any exploded diagrams would be much appreciated

Thanks
routemaster1   
Sat Aug 17 2013, 06:37am
Member No: #574
Joined: Jul 08 2007
Location: Dorset
kitjunky wrote ...

Does anyone know how the top display front facia comes away so the headunit can be removed. any exploded diagrams would be much appreciated

Thanks

You don't need to dismantle anything to remove a head unit, just the appropriate tools, readily available from, say, Halfords. Or two pieces of bent wire of appropriate diameter inserted onto the holes on the front of the unit.

EDIT. This is assuming the head unit is similar to a pre 2011 C4 or C4GP.
John_S   
Sat Aug 17 2013, 08:23am
Member No: #30370
Joined: Apr 21 2013
Location: Surrey
Sorry to say Routemaster1 that your suggestion doesn't work, the current head unit doesn't have a standard Din faceplate, its shaped to fit the dash.
Having said that I can't offer any clue as to how to get to it

This item on Ebay shows the head unit etc . - Click Here -
Dave_Retired.   
Sat Aug 17 2013, 08:52am

Member No: #1
Joined: Aug 07 2006
Location: Northumberland
Not so simple on the New C4/DS4 I'm afraid. (@John_S the radio isn't actually a part of that control panel)

1st, you have to remove the multiplexed control panel which covers the head unit to gain access before you then remove it. BTW there are no physical controls on the unit, it's just a box so anyone thinking they can simply pull it out and fit an aftermarket unit is going to have great difficulty I'm afraid.

I have put the Technical Guides Here: - Click Here -

However they are only available to Premier Members as I have had to pay for them............

But here is where to start:

[shadowbox=http://c4owners.org/plugins/forum/attachment/1/1376747483_1_FT187767_ds4_radio_removal.png|C4/DS4 Radio Head Access::||]http://c4owners.org/plugins/forum/attachment/1/1376747483_1_FT187767_ds4_radio_removal_.png[/shadowbox]
BigJohnD   
Sat Aug 17 2013, 11:52am

Member No: #82
Joined: Jan 22 2007
Location: Hoylake
This is what you need to remove for access to the HU. I've not done it, so can't help any further.



Are you thinking of changing the HU?
kitjunky   
Wed Aug 21 2013, 05:17am
Member No: #24347
Joined: Feb 19 2012
Location: Uk
Ok , successfully gained access to the head unit.

(1) carefully pull top air vent above display out with finger nails. it just pulls forwards and unclips (no screws).

(2) pull display assy out under air vent (again no screws) it unclips with gentle persuasion.

(3). remove 4 torx screws holding headunit / heating control panel.

(4) unclip diagnostic cover (no screws) and remove.

(5) remove lower 2 torx screws, this enables headunit/heating control panel to be pulled forwards out of the way.

(6 ) remove 2 torx screws holding actual head unit in place allowing removal of the RD45 / RD5 head unit.

The unit looks shockingly cheap and nasty.

Reasons for gaining access are to mod the unit for better low frequency output. (should only be done by persons with advanced electronics experience)
BigJohnD   
Wed Aug 21 2013, 11:18am

Member No: #82
Joined: Jan 22 2007
Location: Hoylake
Any photos?
kitjunky   
Wed Aug 21 2013, 11:31am
Member No: #24347
Joined: Feb 19 2012
Location: Uk
Done a trial run on saturday, results were good however car has been back into dealers for bluetooth issues (Still unresolved grrr).

New headunit installed to no avail. Fitted JBL speakers front and back which improved the sound 60% ish after a few days bedding in, GTO609C front and GTO629 Back. The headunit mod consists of bypassing 4 multilayer ceramic caps feeding the signal to the power amp chip with higher value electrolytics (difficult task as they are tiny) . this reduces the amps low frequency cut off so giving deeper bass. the amp chip is rated at 22watt x 4 into 4 ohm and 48watt x 4 into 2 ohm. not bad for a pesky little chip . the jbl speakers are 3 ohm so that makes around 34watts x 4 . the sound was rather nice.

alas now with new headunit it sounds horrid again, ive also noticed that the continental RD5 / 45 headunits need at least a month to bed in.

Can i hold off re modding ?. not for long me thinks
mhuman   
Mon Oct 28 2013, 12:42pm
Member No: #31369
Joined: Jun 25 2013
Location: Ukraine
Any chance that somobody's got photos how HU looks like from the inside? I'm wondering what are the values on caps and coils used for output filter of the power amp.
kitjunky   
Fri Nov 22 2013, 11:57am
Member No: #24347
Joined: Feb 19 2012
Location: Uk
Their are no caps between the power amp and speaker terminals, their are 4 multi film caps inline with the power amp signal input.(I upped these to 10uF electrolytics and left the film caps in place) and I added an extra 2 x 8200uf 16V across the 3300uf power supply input cap + a 22uf bypass across these, ( total 19422uf ). the resulting sound quality improvement is significant and worth the effort (sounds better than my mates £500 pioneer hehe), but theres not much space in their. one does this at ones own peril
mhuman   
Wed Apr 02 2014, 02:52pm
Member No: #31369
Joined: Jun 25 2013
Location: Ukraine
kitjunky, I've ended up soldering wires to capacitors before power amp of HU and connected to external JBL amplifier.

The sound is still unacceptable though There is way too much of mid tones and highs are really dirty. Speakers are replaced for JBL as well.
Seems like it is HU DSP to blame. Don't know if it is possible to do anything with that,

LenA   
Wed Apr 08 2015, 09:35am
Member No: #365
Joined: Jun 01 2007
Location: New Inn, Pencader
These images may be of help
































7 User said Thank You to LenA for this Post :
 BigJohnD (08 Apr 2015 : 09:57) , Dave_Retired. (08 Apr 2015 : 10:30) , Tiberiuuc (21 Feb 2016 : 14:54) , mluijben (20 Jun 2016 : 12:56) , g422a (08 Sep 2018 : 17:57) , pittol (11 Feb 2019 : 14:49) , Timon2210 (15 May 2019 : 09:07)
BigJohnD   
Wed Apr 08 2015, 09:57am

Member No: #82
Joined: Jan 22 2007
Location: Hoylake
Excellent photos! Many thanks.
Tiberiuuc   
Sun Feb 21 2016, 11:26am
Member No: #43818
Joined: Feb 21 2016
Location: Romania
I do not understand how out display (picture 4) ?? By forcing ? or clips / screw behind display ??

Thx.
BigJohnD   
Sun Feb 21 2016, 12:23pm

Member No: #82
Joined: Jan 22 2007
Location: Hoylake
I think it just held in by plastic spring clips/snaps and needs to be prised out carefully.

4 User said Thank You to BigJohnD for this Post :
 Tiberiuuc (21 Feb 2016 : 14:51) , g422a (25 Aug 2018 : 23:18) , pittol (11 Feb 2019 : 14:49) , Timon2210 (15 May 2019 : 09:07)
Go to page       >>   

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Administrator, Forum Moderator, Forum Moderator, Premier Member, Technical Expert, New C4 and DS4 Forum Moderators, Member