or Login >>         
C4 - DS4 Owners :: Forums :: Styling Performance and Upgrading :: Mods and Styling, Chassis, lowering, wheels etc.

C4 VTS fast road build, inc lowering guide

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
planet_saxx   
Sat Jul 21 2012, 12:15pm
Member No: #26660
ok as a new member i was a little suprised to find there is no lowering guide. for some it will be a first time experience so a little advice may be appreciated

please note i am a handy mechanic, i have done the following at home with all tools available from halfords, machine mart and other local car tool suppliers. nothing too special was required...

please note this was the first time i have done any work on a C4. the car is my own.

time taken wa 3.5 hrs including having 2 cups of tea and playing fetch with the dog

this is not a 100% must step by step guide. its simply how i lowered my C4.

firstly would like to point out its a 2005 vts with 89,000 miles so we are not working on a low mileage car (this is more realistic for your average joe).

start with a car at standard height.

pop the hood

i started by removing the 16mm nuts that secure the wipers

penetrant spray...

i could not get the wiper arms to pull off so used a balljoint splitter.

with the wiper arms removed. we now need to look at the long plastic wiper motor/linkage cover from below the windscreen.

i started by lifting the soft floppy ends, they are tucked under the front wings.

pop the edges of the plastic cover off each side.

with the cover gently removed (a little forceful persuassion required)

plastics as i removed them.

next moved onto the strut top bolts 21mm

not a lot of room to get a socket onto the 21mm strut top nut. i removed each 10mm bolt securing the wiper linkage.