or Login >>         
C4 - DS4 Owners :: Forums :: Coupe and Hatch Pre 2011 cars :: Coupe and Hatch Pre 2011 Road Tests and Model Reports

Citroën C4 EGS driving tips

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
Howard Summers   
Fri Aug 24 2007, 05:33am
Hi All

As a new EGS driver, I was a little surprised that the user manual didn't explain best methods for driving.

The EGS is a very different driving experience, and I am very impressed with the EGS system and the C4 in general.

I had a brief demo on delivery, and then just got in and set off. However, after a month I'm still learning! For example, while stationary and in 1st gear, you can select 2nd gear before starting off, that's quite useful for down-hill starts.

Also, I've been pondering whether or not to leave the car in gear when parked. I always used to leave my Xsara in 1st gear to prevent it rolling in case of a hand brake failure.

Does anybody know of any other features, or can give me any hints or tips regarding driving with EGS?

I'd love to hear from you.

Cheers

Howard
blueclouduk   
Sat Sep 01 2007, 05:24am
I have, at least for another week, a Renault Grand Scenic that has a similar electronic parking brake set-up. If I leave the car on any slope (especially at the in-laws - massive hill) I never trust the parking brake on it's own and always leave it in gear. I will do the same with the GC4P.

The only other tip I can give you is to make sure you lift off the gas when changing up through the gears. The EGS is for all intents and purposes a manual box and keeping your right foot planted will only stress the engine between changes.
C4P HDI EGMV Exclusive   
Sat Sep 01 2007, 06:53am
Whether or not you leave the car in gear depends on the situation.
In my garage I make sure the car is not in gear and the hand brake is off.