or Login >>         
C4 - DS4 Owners :: Forums :: C4 Picasso and Grand Picasso - PRE 2013 only :: C4 Picasso and Grand Picasso General questions

C4GP Temperature gauge

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools
   
Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
trev h   
Mon Oct 11 2010, 11:17am
Member No: #10864
Joined: Sep 11 2009
Location: kent/se london
One of the things that has bugged me since buying the GP is for all that money Citroen couldn't run to a water temperature gauge, just a light coming on when it's probably too late & the engines in a cloud of steam, so I thought I'd look into fitting one, I don't want a 2" round dial job stuck on the dash ( done all that in the 60/70s ) just a simple indiscreet digital one, but finding one is easier said than done,

Although I keep coming back to it & crimbos round the corner- it will fit under the radio & is easy to connect up to the OBII socket & tells you more info than just the temp but is replicating most of what is available anyway, so basically what i want to know has anyone fitted a water temp gauge or either of these 2 gauges, or has any other solutions.
bandyquill   
Mon Oct 11 2010, 11:32am
Member No: #3258
Joined: Apr 12 2008
Location: Wakefield
how often do you find you need a water temperature, sureley theres a problem if its getitng to that stage !!!
trev h   
Mon Oct 11 2010, 12:12pm
Member No: #10864
Joined: Sep 11 2009
Location: kent/se london
bandyquill wrote ...

how often do you find you need a water temperature, sureley theres a problem if its getitng to that stage !!!

Being old school i like to know whats going on BEFORE theres a problem so it doesn't cause even bigger problems, when i fit the winter radiator guard i would like to make sure i'm not causing a heating problem, i wont bring up the lack of an oil pressure gauge. Its probably an oldies thing.
Bart   
Mon Oct 11 2010, 12:47pm
Member No: #12823
Joined: Mar 11 2010
Location: Kent
I Too mish the Water Temp guage.. On a car thats 20k plus!!!!!!!!. All my other vehicles had them..
BigJohnD   
Mon Oct 11 2010, 02:27pm

Member No: #82
Joined: Jan 22 2007
Location: Hoylake
You could try something like this I use on my central heating system to monitor the return temperature of the circulating water. The black lead, about 2m long, has a small thermocouple on the end, which is a attached to a copper pipe with a cable tie.



The bad news is I've had it for years and can't remember where I got it from. Radio spares/RS Components, I think. There's no markings or serial number or anything on it.
Jimux   
Tue Oct 12 2010, 01:00pm

Member No: #8137
Joined: Mar 08 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Thats an aquarium thermometer, as sold by Maplin.co.uk. You can set a threshold temperature for an audible warning, but as far as I know they only go up to 70C.

Why not just fit a LED to the fan motor, then you will know when it is on and can judge if it should be.
trev h   
Mon Nov 01 2010, 06:11am
Member No: #10864
Joined: Sep 11 2009
Location: kent/se london
Further to my quest for a water temp gauge i recently came across one similar to what bjd suggested, but these go up to 110c & for under a fiver thought i'd give it a try,

very simply to fit, took less than 30 mins. It doesnt come with batteries so requires 2 x AG13 watch type batteries, stuck it to dash with double sided tape, removed the trim from under the lower glove box in passenger footwell, 1 x t15 screw 3 x plastic pop rivet 1 x plastic screw behind bonnet release catch.

I threaded the wire down beside the steering column & under the trim at the bottom of the cool box, & up to a metal heater pipe which i cable tied the sensor to, as pics. It might not be 100% accurate but it at least gives you a base line, the gauge gets up to approx 83c then drops back as thermostat opens to give a reading between 75c/78c. Not everyones cup of tea but at least it keeps me happy.

EDIT if anyone connects up a 2.0 hdi to lexia would be grateful if they could post the engine temps. thanks.

[shadowbox=http://c4owners.org/plugins/forum/attachment/10864/1288609910_10864_FT112449_c4_temp_gauge_006.jpg|::||]http://c4owners.org/plugins/forum/attachment/10864/1288609910_10864_FT112449_c4_temp_gauge_006_.jpg[/shadowbox]

[shadowbox=http://c4owners.org/plugins/forum/attachment/10864/1288609910_10864_FT112449_c4_temp_gauge_002.jpg|::||]http://c4owners.org/plugins/forum/attachment/10864/1288609910_10864_FT112449_c4_temp_gauge_002_.jpg[/shadowbox]

2 User said Thank You to trev h for this Post :
 Dave_Retired. (01 Nov 2010 : 06:35) , polo963 (09 Nov 2013 : 20:13)
thomassanders   
Wed Feb 23 2011, 12:40am

I think that if you would follow up some things with this one would be a good thing. Determining the problems would be a great thing to find out in order to really make things work out on your part.
dr_gummi   
Wed Feb 23 2011, 04:38am
Another option, if you have the right garmin, is this rather nice device - Click Here - Faultcode reader, satnav and extra gauges all in one. Unfortunately I do not have the right garmin
Joe
trev h   
Wed Feb 23 2011, 04:40am
Member No: #10864
Joined: Sep 11 2009
Location: kent/se london
What things do you want followed up on.

Only problem was no temp gauge, now one fitted no problem,

does the same sort of thing as dr_gummi talking about, (no sat nav) didn't pay that much though, stole one off ebay for much less.
ronos   
Wed Feb 23 2011, 10:25am
Member No: #12853
Joined: Mar 13 2010
Location: cumbria
Looks handy,does the obd cable go into the socket in the glove box.
trev h   
Wed Feb 23 2011, 11:41am
Member No: #10864
Joined: Sep 11 2009
Location: kent/se london
ronos wrote ...

Looks handy,does the obd cable go into the socket in the glove box.


Yes, theres a couple of handy holes in the roof of the glove box & i just fed the cable down & across under the cool box & back up by the steering column, i've positioned the gauge just under & to the right of the radio. The only other thing i did was to make a small wedge the same size as the gauge to kick it upwards slightly to make it more visible then fix it with the double sided velcro thats supplied.
will try to get a pic tomorrow, just tried but hasn't come out too clear in the dark with flash.
trev h   
Thu Feb 24 2011, 04:31am
Member No: #10864
Joined: Sep 11 2009
Location: kent/se london
Pic as above.
Inchbeag   
Thu Feb 24 2011, 05:45pm
Member No: #16180
Joined: Oct 31 2010
Location: Angus
dr_gummi wrote ...

Another option, if you have the right garmin, is this rather nice device - Click Here - Faultcode reader, satnav and extra gauges all in one. Unfortunately I do not have the right garmin
Joe


If you've got an Android phone you can get Garmin Mechanic free from the Android market.

So you can analyse the engine on the phone via Bluetooth

Whatever next
niks   
Thu Aug 23 2012, 10:09pm
Member No: #16266
Joined: Nov 07 2010
Location: Victoria, Australia
I bought the Garmin device and on trips find it excellent and a worthwhile toy LOL. Well some of the trips in Australia have boring long dusty roads.
 

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Administrator, Forum Moderator, Forum Moderator, Premier Member, Technical Expert, New C4 and DS4 Forum Moderators, Member